The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is a federation of seven emirates in the southeast of the Arabian Peninsula in Southwest Asia. On the coast of the Arabian Gulf and located with access to the Gulf of Oman, the country is bordered by Saudi Arabia and Oman. It comprises the Emirates of Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Al Fujairah, Dubai, Ras Al Khaimah, Sharjah and Umm Al Quwain.

The capital of the UAE is Abu Dhabi, the largest of the seven Emirates and a major industrial and cultural centre.

The political system is based on the Constitution of 1971, the year of independence. Islam is the official religion and Arabic is the official language.

The UAE has the seventh largest oil reserves in the world and is one of the most developed economies of the Middle East and one of the richest countries in the world with a per capita gross domestic product of $54,607.

The country has a relatively high Human Development Index, on a global scale on the 35th Course (2009). The International Monetary Fund classifies the UAE as a “high income developing economy”.

Until the 1960s the country still consisted of simple buildings, some without electricity supply and sewage. The start of the oil-production has changed the circumstances dramatically. Due to their rapid growth and development Abu Dhabi and Dubai are now ones of the most modern cities of the world.